Awards for Sajida Zaidi, Zahida Zaidi and Muzaffar Hanafi

Renowned Urdu poet Muzaffar Hanafi has been selected for Pandit Brijmohan Dattatreya Award while senior poets Sajida Zaidi and Zahida Zaidi jointly get Bahadur Shah Zafar award of Delhi Urdu Academy that were announced today.

The Bahadur Shah Zafar award that comprises Rs 1.11 lakh cash and citation would be shared by the two Aligarh-based scholars and poets–Prof Sajida Zaidi and Prof Zahida Zaidi.

Hanafi gets the award of Rs 51,000. Bhagwan Das Ejaz, Ibn Kanwal, Zafar Moradabadi, Riyaz Qidwai, Zafar Agha, Ashhar Qadeer, Mohd Zakir, Yunus Jafri and Syeda Kishwar are amongst other awardees.

The names mentioned above include those selected for awards under the category of best teacher, journalist, translator, poet, fiction writer, science writing et al.

The awards for the year 2008 where finalised sometime back. Late Qamar Raees was alive then. Chief Minister Sheila Dixit okayed the list and the awards would be presented at a function soon.

By Indscribe []


Saraswati Samman to Naiyer Masud, Iqbal Award to Majeed

Renowned Urdu litterateur Naiyer Masud has been selected for this year’s Saraswati Samman, which is given by KK Birla Foundation, annually to an Indian author in any of the languages of the country.

Masud is one of the greatest Urdu short-story writers and has become a legend in his lifetime. A translation of his short-stories, which was published in English, ‘The essence of camphor’ had stunned the readers across the world.

His works have been translated in umpteen languages from French to Hebrew. Earlier, eminent critic Shamsur Rahman Faruqi, was awarded Saraswati Samman, six years ago for his landmark ‘Sher Shor Angez’. The Saraswati Samman comprises of Rs 5 lakh cash and a citation. The jury that selected the winner was presided over by Chief Justice of India JB Patnaik.

Award to Iqbal Majeed

Another eminent Urdu author, Iqbal Majeed, has been selected for Madhya Pradesh government’s prestigious award ‘Iqbal Samman’ in the field of Urdu literature. Iqbal Majeed has been writing since mid-50s and is considered one of the finest novelists and short-story writers in the sub-continent. The award carries Rs 2 lakh cash.

Indscribe (

Delhi Urdu Academy awards announced

The Delhi Urdu Academy has announced its annual awards for the year 2008. The All India Bahadur Shah Zafar Award (Rs 1.11 lakh) goes to Professor Syed Mohammad Aqeel Rizvi.

The prestigious Pt Brijmohan Dattatreya Award will be conferred on Anand Mohan Zutshi Gulzar Dehalvi. The award carries Rs 51,000 cash and memento. Mahfoozur Rahman and Som Anand, have been selected for the awards for journalism

Eminent writer Musharraf Alam Zauqi has been selected for the Award for creative prose writing. Professor Shamsul Haq Usmani and Professor Naseem Ahmad Khan have been chosen for the awards for criticism and research.

For poetry this year Nazmi Sikandarabadi & PP Srivastava Rind have been selected. Ataullah Akhtar (Calligraphy) and Taliba Khatoon (Teaching) are among other awardees

Journalist Som Anand has been associated with Siasat and UNI Urdu service. In the past, he worked alongside Faiz and Ahmad Nadeem Qasmi. The awards will be given at a ceremony in March.


Urdu Awards to Waris Alvi, Mansha Yad


Renowned Urdu critic from India Waris Alvi and litterateur Mansha Yad from Pakistan have been selected for the 12th Alami Urdu Adab Award given by Majlis-e-Farogh-e-Urdu Adab (Doha, Qatar).

Alvi is one of the most oustanding modernist critics in Urdu. He is known for his straightforward criticism. The jury comprising Prof Gopi Chand Narang, Mazhar Imam, Khurshid Ahmad and Professor Sadiq selected him.

Eminent fiction writer Mansha Yaad of Pakistan has also got this year’s award. Every year the awards is given two writers, one from India, another from Pakistan.

The two writers will get Rs 1.5 lakh each apart form citation and memento. Both the writers deserve this award. On this occasion a letter in Waris Alvi’s own writing to Mansha Yad has been produced here.


The following writers have been honoured with this award in the past:

Qurratul Ain Hyder
Kalidas Gupta Reza
Joginder Pal
Shauat Siddiqui
Intizar Husain

Surinder Prakash
Aal-e-Ahmad Suroor
Ahmad Nadeem Qasmi
Nisar Ahmad Faruqi
Qazi Abdus Sattar

Abdullah Hussain
Asad Mohd Khan
Gopi Chand Narang
Muhganni Tabassum
Salahuddin Pervez

Bano Qudsia
Mukhtar Masood
Jilani Bano
Mohammad Khalid Akhtar
Mustansar Husain Tarar
Hajra Masroor
Ashfaq Ahmad

(By Indscribe)