BBC Urdu promoting ‘Your Edition’ at Lucknow, Bhopal and Hyderabad

The BBC Urdu team visited three cities in India recently to promote its website. At all the three places the response was overwhelming. It was a good initiative despite lack of adequate preparedness at local level before organising the event.

Still, people came in large numbers in all the cities. Many were not familiar with web. But they came and showed interest in the initiative. People were informed about the proposed ‘Your Edition’ of BBC Urdu website.

The team led by Waheed Mirza, the familiar voice from India Shakil Akhtar, Aliya Nazki and Nadia, Notwithstanding the problem of font on the website, bbcurdu.com remains a leader and has been getting millions of hits.

The website should continue its efforts and hold such programmes in India in future also. India has tremendous potential for Urdu site as Urdu-speakers are now getting computer-literate, albeit slightly late. Hoping that BBC will organise similar programmes in future also.

Indscribe

7 Responses

  1. Would that be too much to ask a search button or navigation map on this site. Thank you

  2. Kindly see the ‘search box’ on the right. It is below the links column and above the monthly archives.

  3. See the Home Page of the site.

  4. web traffic

    Seth writes the most popular marketing blog in the world. He is the author of some of the bestselling marketing books of the last decade. He speaks to large groups on marketing, new media and he is also the founder of Squidoo. com , a fast- growing rec…

  5. hellow how are you how is your helth i pray for your bright futhur.

  6. March 24,2009

    All the staff members of bbc urdu,

    I claim to be the oldest listener of bbcurdu. I am listening since fifties when it was Pakistan Service. I remember I had won a second prize in 1954 organised by bbc a book titled “People in History”, about the Muslim States in the world. The book along with the letter are still with me in Hyderabad (India).I still remember, Amjad Ali, Haji Baba and Vicar Ahmed.

    From 1977 to 1992 while I was in Dubai, I cannot forget the interest and love of a Pathan taxi driver to tune up to your service at the time of your program.

    Since 1992 I am in USA frequesting visiting Hyderabad (India) and occassionally Pakistan also.

    Now I am on vacation and will reach Chicago on 28th March, 2009. I will write a detailed letter in Urdu after reaching Chicago. My address and telephone number are given below.

    Ali Ahmed Khan
    437 E Home Avenue
    Palatine, IL 60074-7062
    U.S,A.

    With best regards,
    yours sincerely,
    Ali Ajmed Khan

  7. March 24,2009

    All the staff members of bbc urdu,

    I claim to be the oldest listener of bbcurdu. I am listening since fifties when it was Pakistan Service. I remember I had won a second prize in 1954 organised by bbc a book titled “People in History”, about the Muslim States in the world. The book along with the letter are still with me in Hyderabad (India).I still remember, Amjad Ali, Haji Baba and Vicar Ahmed.

    From 1977 to 1992 while I was in Dubai, I cannot forget the interest and love of a Pathan taxi driver to tune up to your service at the time of your program.

    Since 1992 I am in USA frequesting visiting Hyderabad (India) and occassionally Pakistan also.

    Now I am on vacation and will reach Chicago on 28th March, 2009. I will write a detailed letter in Urdu after reaching Chicago. My address and telephone number are given below.

    Ali Ahmed Khan
    437 E Home Avenue
    Palatine, IL 60074-7062
    U.S,A.

    With best regards,
    yours sincerely,
    Ali Ahmed Khan

Leave a Reply

