Elected corporators take oath in Urdu, Punjabi

After the recent election for the Delhi Municipal Corporation (DMC), the newly elected corportors took oath on April 23. Many corporators chose to take oath in Urdu and Punjabi also apart from English and Hindi.

Of the 272 corporators, the figure of corporators who took oath in Urdu and Punjabi may not be big, but it was certainly a departure from the past. When these councillors (corporators) asked Speaker Farhad Suri for the permission to take oath in languages other than Hindi and English, Suri gave them the nod.

Mahmood Zia (Congress, Sitaram Bazaar), Obaid Iqbal (LJP, Turkman Gate), Shoaib Danish (Zakir Nagar), Jamaluddin (Okhla), Razia Sultana, Haji Taj Mohammad (Nehru Vihar), Shakila Begum (Mustafabad) were amongst the seven of the eleven Muslim corporators who took oath of office in Urdu. Farhad Suri (Nizamuddin), Khurram Iqbal (Jama Masjid) took oath in English. Imran Ismail (Qassabpura) and Nafisa Khatun took oath in Hindi.

By Indscribe


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: